PDA

View Full Version : Tales from the Bottom of my Magazine Vault which may interest readers

carmagreviews
06-15-2011, 01:40 PM
Tales from the Bottom of my Magazine Vault which may interest readers

#1 in series

I be posting unusual motor racing stories and commentary dug from my extensive indexing of car magazines in depth when i have been doing for the past 37 years!

Iceland's Artic I million
Before the Financial Crisis where likes of Spain ; Portugal; Ireland and particularly Iceland got themselves in stuck in the dodo and are looking like at any moment that they fall over financially and be declared bankcrupt

Here a very funny you tube with New Zealands John Clarke (Formally Fred Dagg) explaining the European Financial Crisis
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LyePCRkq620

Iceland got very close in 1972 to going bankcrupt then - Why
Its because in order to boost tourism and revenue for the strugging nation during the Iceland Summer- the powers that be decided to organize car race that to this day there has being nothing like it since and on the scale - This was no holds bar race
around iceland when any sort of vehicle could compete Example Nascar Stockcars ; Rallys Cars ; Motorcycles ; Trucks ; and one of two high performance saloon specials like the dropping in of full works V12 Le Mans Matra-Simca engine to a Chrysler

180 sedan (Production 180 was Chryslers proposed Humber Sceptre replacement and later produced by Chrysler France and Spain in 1.8 and 2.0 versions from 1970 ; later in Australia these cars were called Chrysler Centuras fitted with 2.0, 215ci or

245ci Hemi 6 engines) the Race was to sponsored by STP and prize money was $1,000,000 US would attract the top motor racers from al over the world . The promise of putting the event life on TV (which would be a major plus particularly the selling
of TV rights around the globe)

However the staging of this event was beset by problems